Sunday, September 25, 2011

Jake and the Never Land Pirates

I am so happy to announce that "Jake and the  Never Land Pirates" is coming to DVD September 27th!  In September 20th the 18 song soundtrack will be released,  so definently be on the look out for both of these great Disney items. 

About "Jake and the Never Land Pirates" TV Series: "Jake and the Never Land Pirates" airs daily during Disney Channel's Disney Junior programming block for kids age 2-7. The series stars the voices of Colin Ford (TV’s “Supernatural”) as Jake, Madison Pettis (TV’s “Cory in the House”) as Izzy, Jonathan Morgan Heit ("Bedtime Stories") as Cubby, David Arquette ("Scream 4") as Skully the lookout parrot, Corey Burton (TV’s “Star Wars: The Clone Wars”) as Captain Hook, and Jeff Bennet (TV’s “Johnny Bravo”) as Mr. Smee.

About the Album Release:Written and performed by Loren Hoskins and Kevin Hendrickson, a.k.a. Sharky and Bones of The Never Land Pirate Band, the album features 18 swashbuckling tracks sure to thrill any young pirate. Also included are downloadable activities and games to plan the perfect pirate party, a Sing-Along version of the show’s theme song and a bonus track from a future episode. The deluxe edition includes a pirate bandana. The album arrives at stores and online retailers September 20.

The album features a variety of songs that kids and parents can enjoy together. Songs include the kooky, comical "Hot Lava," “Aw Coconuts,” "Pirate Password,” and the arrrghhh-rated “Talk Like a Pirate.” Some songs refer to popular characters in the show, such as “What’s Cookin’ Smee,” "Captain Hook (Is A Cranky Crook)," “Tick Tock Croc” and “Bucky’s Shanty.” Others capture the island spirit of Never Land, such as “Castaway on Pirate Island," "Shipwreck Shuffle" and "Never Sky," as well as the "Jake and the Never Land Pirates" theme song. All songs can be heard in episodes of the show.

Portland, Oregon-based Hoskins and Hendrickson have been creating pirate rock music for kids of all ages for more than a decade. The duo produced four previous children's albums and even led their own pirate band. The pirate rockers also provide the musical score for “Jake and the Never Land Pirates.”

MY TAKE:  With a one year old a two year old and a seven year old this DVD fits perfectly with all three of them, although it is best suited for preschool age children!  It features cute characters that are all based on the original Peter Pan series and who didn't like Peter Pan as a child!  Matter of fact,  Peter Pan just so happens to be my husbands favorite movie from his childhood so he doesnt mind watching this cute new cartoon series with our son's. 

Besides the DVD,  it also comes with a CD with seven songs and an official eye pirate patch.  It was so cute to watch my soon to be three year old wearing the patch as he pretended to be a pirate.  It's so darling to watch his imagination run wild while watching this adorable DVD.  He also loved listening to the CD,  as it has even become his favorite CD.  He even brings it with us on car rides and him and his little brother bob their head to it. 

This DVD would make a perfect addition to any children's DVD collection.  I also believe it would make a great gift for the holidays. 

Disc 1 Includes:
  1. Hats off to Hook/Escape from Beich Mountain
  2. Hide the Hideout/The Old Shell Game
  3. Izzy's Pirate Puzzle / The Never Land Games
  4. Off the Hook! / Never say Never!
  5. Cubby's Sunken Treasure / Cubby's Goldfish
  6. Happy Hook Day! / No Returns!
  7. The Sky's the Limit! / Bucky makes a Splash
Bonus:  "Pirate Party" Music Videos
              Pirate-oke Sing Along
              Yo-Ho, You Ready To Be A Never Land Pirate?

Disc 2 - Music CD Includes:
  • Hot Lava
  • Aw, Coconuts
  • Tick Tock Croc
  • Never Land Pirate Band
  • Pirate Password
  • Talk Like A Pirate
  • Bucky's Shanty
Plus:   You also receive an official Pirate's Patch!

BUY IT:  You can purchase the 2 disc DVD/CD sampler combo set for only $19.99 in the US and $24.99 in Canada beginning September 27th.  You can purchase the 18 song Soundtrack wherever music is sold beginning September 20th.

TO LEARN MORE:   For more information about Disney Records releases,  please visit,  become a fan at,  of follow them on Twittter.

About Walt Disney Studios:For more than 85 years, The Walt Disney Studios has been the foundation on which The Walt Disney Company (DIS: NYSE) was built. Today, the Studio brings quality movies, music and stage plays to consumers throughout the world. Feature films are released under four banners: Walt Disney Pictures, which includes Walt Disney Animation Studios and Pixar Animation Studios, Disneynature, Touchstone Pictures and Marvel. Through the Home Entertainment division, innovative distribution methods provide access to creative content across multiple platforms. Original music and motion picture soundtracks are produced under Walt Disney Records and Hollywood Records, while Disney Theatrical Group produces and licenses live events, including Broadway theatrical productions, Disney on Ice and Disney LIVE!. For more information, please visit

*Disclaimer - I received the DVD mentioned above,  free of charge,  for review purposes.  In no way did this alter my opinon of their products.  All of my opinons are one hundred percent honest and true.*



My Journey With Candida said...

Thanks for the review!! Now I know this is something my Grandson would love. He loves to sing and dance... LOL... he is so funny

JENNi said...

This looks like an awesome movie for the girls! I loved the review!! :)